Division Leadership

Division Director

Jeff Ryan KØRM, of Westminster, Colorado, became director in October, 2018 and was subsequently reelected to a three year term beginning January 1, 2020.  He was previously the division Vice Director– serving since January 2016.   Jeff is a Life Member of the ARRL and has been an active member of the Colorado Amateur Radio community for over 20 years as an ARRL Field Services volunteer as well as holding several leadership positions in Colorado based organizations.  He was the ARRL Colorado Section Manager from 2001 thru 2011.   Prior to that he was an Assistant SM for six years and also previously served as the Pikes Peak ARES Emergency Coordinator. He was the Division representative on the ARRL Emergency Communications Advisory Committee (ECAC).  Jeff co-founded HamCon Colorado in 2002 for the sole purpose of hosting a full blown ARRL Division Convention in Colorado.  He currently sits on the HamCon Colorado board of directors and serves as co-chairman of the 2020 Convention Committee.  He is also currently the President of Rocky Mountain Ham Radio and is also a member of the Frequency Coordination Committee of the Colorado Council of Amateur Radio Clubs.  Active on HF, he enjoys rag chewing primarily on 10 and 20 meters.  He is also active on VHF/UHF and has participated with the NØSZ team in the June VHF Contest since 2009.  Jeff worked in the telecom/Internet industry for over thirty years.  He subsequently served a three-year stint as an executive with a small company in the Denver Metro area before returning to work with a national Internet Service Provider in late 2019.  Jeff is also a private pilot and enjoys flying his Cessna 182.

Current ARRL committee appointments:

  • Administration and Finance Committee (chairman)

       Previous ARRL committee appointments:

  •        Public Relations Committee
  •        Amateur Radio Legal Defense & Assistance
  •        Emergency Communications Advisory Committee

Division Vice Director

Robert B. Wareham, NØESQ, of Highlands Ranch, Colorado was appointed Vice-Director of the Rocky Mountain Division on November 20th, 2018 to fill the vacancy created when Jeff Ryan, KØRM, assumed Director duties.  He was subsquently reelected to a three-year term beginning January 1, 2020.   He is a Life Member of the ARRL, a member of The Legacy Circle, and has been very active in the Amateur Radio community since he was first licensed in 2005. He holds a General Class license.

Over the years Robert has served as Public Information Coordinator, State Government Liaison, and Section Emergency Coordinator (SEC) for the Colorado Section of the ARRL. Robert was appointed SEC for Colorado ARES in 2011 where he is credited with creating the “Colorado Model” of statewide unified district, region, and section level emergency communications coordination. He continues to serve as SEC of the section today.

Having volunteered at the Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) since 2006, Robert assisted in drafting the bill that created the Auxiliary Emergency Communications Unit (AuxComm Unit) of the DHSEM in 2016. The AuxComm Unit is managed by Colorado ARES leadership under a Memorandum of Understanding with the DHSEM.

An attorney by profession, Robert was instrumental in drafting two other pieces of legislation that have made it into the Colorado statutes. The first, a provision added to a handsfree cell phone bill that exempted licensed Amateur Radio operators from mobile operating restrictions. The second, a bill codifying the federal provisions of PRB-1 (reasonable accommodation of amateur radio stations by state and local government) into Colorado law.

Robert has served on the planning committee for HamCon Colorado, the quadrennial Colorado hamfest that hosts the ARRL Rocky Mountain Division convention, for the last three conventions.

While Robert’s primary interest in Amateur Radio has always been public service and emergency communications related, (summer weekends will find him on his Amateur Radio equipped Harley Davidson Police Electra Glide® motorcycle working bicycle events), he also enjoys participating in Field Day, and HF operations.

Robert is married to Jennifer Holschuh, KCØYYI. He has four children by previous marriages; one of whom, Maj. Jason Wareham, USMC, is also a licensed ham, WA1ESQ. Two of Robert’s siblings are also hams: Julie Wareham, M.D., KJ6ZAY; and John R. Wareham, K1HAM.

Current ARRL committee appointments:

  • Legislative Advocacy Committee

Rocky Mountain Division Level Appointments

On behalf of the League and its members Jeff wishes to thank the following hams who are volunteering their time to serve in various capacities that contribute valuable studies and recommendations to our Division as well as the Board of Directors:

  • Assistant Director (Emerging Technology)
    • Ed James KA8JMW, Edgewood, NM
  • ARRL DX Advisory Committee:
    • Dick Williams K8ZTT,  Franktown, CO
  • ARRL Electromagnetic Compatibility Committee:
    • Ron Hranac  NØIVN, Littleton, CO
  • ARRL Contest Advisory Committee:
    • Mike Fatchett  WØMU,  Parker, CO